Book Reviews · Ramblings

Book Review: Lauren Graham – Talking as Fast as I Can

laurengrahambr
I was so incredibly excited when it was announced that Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life was coming to Netflix. My husband had never watched any of the episodes so I took the opportunity to marathon the series before the release of the new episodes. I was also pretty stoked to receive Lauren Graham’s Talking as Fast as I Can as a gift for Christmas and naturally I devoured it and it’s Gilmore Girl’s based facts.

The Blurb:

In her first work of nonfiction, the beloved star of Gilmore Girls and Parenthood recounts her experiences on Gilmore Girls—the first and second time—and shares stories about life, love, and working in Hollywood. This collection of essays is written in the intimate, hilarious, and down-to earth voice that made her novel, Someday Someday Maybe, a New York Times bestseller.


‘This book contains some stories from my life: the awkward growing up years, the confusing dating years, the fulfilling working years, and what it was like to be asked to play one of my favorite characters again. You probably think I’m talking about my incredible achievement as Dolly in Hello, Dolly! as a Langley High School junior, a performance my dad called “you’re so much taller than the other kids.” But no! I’m talking about Lorelai Gilmore, who, back in 2008, I wasn’t sure I’d ever see again. Also included: tales of living on a houseboat, meeting guys at awards shows, and that time I was asked to be a butt model. A hint: all three made me seasick.’

– Lauren Graham.

I have to say, I am completely biased but I loved this book and I fangirled from start to finish. She is incredibly grounded and it was great to read about her relationship with her fellow actors. It was really refreshing to read an autobiography that was so incredibly honest – especially when it comes to typecasting in movies/TV series, the last season of Gilmore Girls (the whole Chris & Lorelai getting married thing – it was a bit hokey!) and saying things that sometimes aren’t quite down with the kids (Old Lady Jackson – for life!) If you’re a die-hard Gilmore Girls fan, a Lauren Graham fan, or even if you just like funny relatable easy reads, this book is for you.

Talia

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

