Ramblings

First blog post – Happy New Year

Hello! I thought this would be the right time to start a new blog. New year, new goals and all that jazz. Although I hate to admit it, I have always been one of those people that has talked the talk. You know the kind, the one that starts something with good intentions and grand ideas, only to never complete it.

2016 was a crazy year for me; I got engaged and married in the space of a month (yep, crazy!), I quit my job at an organization that I had worked at for eight years with no real plan, other than to just be happy. I’m aware, both of these sound like the actions of a crazy person acting on impulse but they have ultimately led me to happiness. Although my job was well paid, I wasn’t happy. The long hours meant missing out on important milestones of my daughter’s life and like a few other working Mum’s I know, I felt like I wasn’t there enough.

I couldn’t have my own Eat, Pray, Love experience and the idea of being The Woman who Went to Bed for a Year (although, incredibly appealing) was impractical, so instead I immersed myself in these books (naming but a few) in the quiet moments and tried to find place to belong in this weird limbo of certain uncertainty.

2017 is the start of a new year and a new adventure and it’s a great opportunity to make a plan for change. So here’s my plan:

  • Spend as much time with my family as possible
  • Bake more (who doesn’t enjoy a good cake?!)
  • Write, write, write…
  • Study Welsh
  • and read (darllen) at least 40 books.

I guess this will act as the sort of dumping ground for it all. Hopefully I can turn things around this year and be the person who does more than just talk. It’s going to be a busy but exciting one.

Here’s to a busy but exciting 2017! Feel free to say ‘hello’ in the comments and thank you for stopping by.

Talia

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

